Dairy Queen` Food Allergy Information

0


[ad_1]

Dairy Queen offers a comprehensive guide to allergens in their food, making it easier for people with food allergies to see what we might be tasting there.

Be aware that, as with any fast food restaurant, the risk of cross-contamination can be significant no matter what you order. Speak with a manager or supervisor before ordering from Dairy Queen (or anywhere, for that matter). You should also always check the current ingredient lists, as the ingredients used may change at any time.

Here is the allergy-to-allergy guide to what you can order from Dairy Queen if you have food allergies.

Win McNamee / Getty Images News / Getty Images

Egg allergy

Those who are allergic to eggs should be able to find plenty to eat at Dairy Queen. The vast majority of the chain’s shakes and malts are egg-free, and many of its ice cream concoctions are also safe. Be aware that Dairy Queen uses egg-based ingredients in many of its ice creams (as flavors may change, check ingredients on the spot). There are also egg-based ingredients in Dairy Queen waffles, waffle cones (regular cones are safe), and many chicken burger and sandwich options, including fried and grilled foods.

Allergy to fish and shellfish

Dairy Queen serves both fried fish sandwiches and fried shrimp in a basket. According to the chain’s allergy statement, these foods are cooked in a deep fryer shared with other fried foods, including chicken and French fries. Therefore, if you are allergic to fish and / or shellfish, you should avoid sandwiches and baskets with these items, and if your allergy is severe, you should also skip anything fried. To stay safe, stick with the ice cream items, which are free from fish and shellfish ingredients.

Milk allergy

While Dairy Queen by its very nature isn’t ideal for someone with a milk allergy (to put it mildly), you don’t need to be hungry if the chain is your only choice. You will need to avoid all high-end ice cream and smoothies. You can also order chicken strips or a chicken garden vegetable salad, and the hot dogs are milk-free if you don’t buy the ones with cheese. The fries are also milk-free, but be aware that they are cooked in a common deep fryer.

Peanut allergy

Dairy Queen uses peanut ingredients in a few foods, including some of its Blizzard treats, peanut butter shake, parfait, and peanut butter sundae.So there is certainly a risk of cross contamination in most frozen items, even if they do not contain peanuts. If your peanut allergy is severe but you decide to order ice cream, talk to the manager about using clean utensils and mixers to prepare your order and ask the manager to get your ice cream in a non-container. open.

Nut allergy

The chain uses coconut and other nuts, like pecans, in several shakes and blizzards.In addition, Dairy Queen notes a risk of cross contamination for nuts on most of its products containing peanuts. The chain’s hot dishes are nut-free, and many flavors of ice cream are nut-free as well. As with peanuts, if your nut allergy is severe but you want ice cream, make sure the staff use clean utensils and have them take the ice cream in a new container.

Soy allergy

According to Dairy Queen, its frying oil is a blend of vegetable oils that includes soybean oil. “Although soybean oil is not recognized as an allergen, consult your health care provider to see if you should avoid soybean oil,” the chain’s allergen statement reads. All Dairy Queen’s ice cream cones contain soy, their frozen coffee blends all contain soy, and all of their shakes and malts contain soy. Plus, almost all hot foods and most blizzards come with a soy warning. If you are allergic to soy, you may be limited to soft drinks and a side salad at Dairy Queen, although if your allergy is not severe, you may choose to try one of the few frozen treats without. soy.

Wheat allergy

Wheat appears in some ice creams and shakes and in most Dairy Queen hot dishes.Premium and light smoothies should be safe, just like Julius Originals. The fries are wheat free but can be cooked in a common deep fryer with wheat coated items. Also be aware that all malted shakes are listed as containing wheat-based ingredients.

A word from Verywell

It is possible for people with food allergies to eat at Dairy Queen, as long as you avoid foods containing their allergen and alert staff to potential cross-contamination issues.

If you need more information about ordering from Dairy Queen, you can read Dairy Queen’s chart with allergen and nutrition information on all of its products. Use the chain’s online contact form for specific questions about allergens or menu items.

[ad_2]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.